We spent the afternoon watching Jackie Chan teach Kung Fu to Will Smith and Jada Pinket’s son in the latest version of Karate Kid (although the kids were not quite sure why it was called Karate Kid and not Kung Fu Kid and we had nothing helpful to tell them).

I did enjoy the film (hmmm… Outdated word that one) and I did take one quote with me tonight as I got a lift out to do the shopping and caught the bus home: Too much of a good thing is a bad thing.

Not sure I have that 100% correct, but you get the gist.

Today was the second day this month when it has come down to a night-time ride around the back yard to fulfill my month of riding.

This evening I picked up my daughter’s BMX for the task. I didn’t really feel like doing it, but it was pretty funny since the saddle is set at its lowest and I almost had to sit on the pannier rack to ride it seated… riding standing was just as challenging as the handlebars are also swept back so she can reach them (that is, when she’s not riding with her hands in the air!)

20110421-213200.jpg

It reminded me that her chain is a little slack (like me) and that I still have no idea why people ride their own bikes with the saddle that low. I don’t get it, but that’s ok. I don’t need to. It has no effect on my life… At all!

So, be happy with your bike or change it, but don’t whinge about how (or what) others are riding.

Keep safe. Ride with a smile.

